Deborah Riley-Magnus, Writeaholic

February 19, 2013

ME, BLOG HOPPING DOWN THE PROMO TRAIL!

blog hop frog 2I’ve done promotional blog tours. I’ve done scheduled guest blogs and guest blogs I requested. I’ve done blog favors (you know the kind I mean, where another author begs you to write a guest blog so that they can get a break from their own blogging activities). I’ve blogged here, there and everywhere … but this is the first time I’ve ever done a Blog Hop!

My dear friend, mystery author Annette Dashofy asked me to participate in this cool hop so that we can all get an inter-tangled-super-promo-op to talk about our next project … My NEXT BIG THING. Anyone who knows me knows I always have something happening, so I wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted to talk about. I just finished my newest novel, the beginning of an entire new brand called the Celestial Watch Chronicles. The romance is titled Lucifer’s Guide. Rafe Bennett is an old-west, hard-riding outlaw. Vivi is the Angel assigned to watch over him. When she falls from heaven and into his arms, Lucifer makes sure that all hell breaks loose. BUT … I’m also working on book #3 for the Twice-Baked Vampire Series, Amsterdamned. I so love urban fantasy! BUT then again, I just finished revising the second edition of Finding Author Success, which is scheduled for release in March … BUT, the real NEXT BIG THING for me is my next non-fiction, The Author’s Cross Marketing Magic Handbook, and that’s what I’d really like to talk about. Here goes!

Blog hop frog, 1What is the working title of your book(s)?

The Author’s Cross Marketing Magic Handbook: Developing New Avenues for Advanced Book Marketing

Where did the idea come from for the book?

My first non-fiction, Finding Author Success, taught basic marketing, publicity and promotional skills to authors struggling with the responsibility of creating their own sales success – no matter how they’re published. As an Author Success Coach, I’ve seen so many authors grasp the basics and excitedly stand ready for more. This  new Cross Marketing book focuses on an advanced marketing technique that can revive flat sales for a current book, kick-start and author’s dead back list, and catapult a new book into big sales through unique and creative Niche and Cross Marketing directions other authors never even think of.

What genre does your book come under?

It’s the Non-fiction-kick-butt-marketing-solutions-for-authors Genre.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I love this question. Since my book is non-fiction, and it’s me teaching and coaching authors how to be more successful, I think I’d like to be played by Meryl Streep … or Whoopie Goldberg. Either one works, LOL.

What is the 25-30 word synopsis of your book?

Is Cross Marketing really magic? It is for authors wishing to approach new audiences, find bigger book sales, and be the mystic of marketing for their own success.

Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

The Author’s Cross Marketing Handbook will be published by Assent Publishing under the Path Maker Imprint and is scheduled for release in late April, 2013.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

The cool thing about writing my non-fiction is that it gets written in various stages over the course of time. I constantly speak at writers groups and conferences on all the various topics regarding author marketing. I teach online workshops covering everything from basic platforms building and social networking, to advanced strategies using the unique hooks written into a story, and how to locate audiences outside the normal author marketing approaches. Author questions and concerns grow into files of notes and research which finally forms the book. Finding Author Success came about that way, and so did The Author’s Cross Marketing Magic Handbook. Over time, hundreds of authors ask the questions, the books are the answers.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Obviously there are hundreds of books out there teaching authors how to deal with one element of marketing or another. My primary goal with both Finding Author Success and The Author’s Cross Marketing Magic Handbook is to cover not only the specific skills and techniques, but to show the author how they work together. My muscle is 20+ years of expertise in marketing and promotions, my heart is in the fact that I too am an author writing, promoting and selling fiction, and my real strength is in the ability to kindly approach the author’s mind. One doesn’t approach a creative thinker about such mundane things as marketing and promotion the same way they’d approach a used car dealer. Authors are skittish where this stuff is concerned. They’re afraid and often resentful about having to deal with it. I don’t think any other books covering the similar subjects compare with the gentle, light-hearted coaching style in Finding Author Success or The Author’s Cross Marketing Magic Handbook.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

You. Him. That author over there and the other author sitting in the back row. The only reason to write these non-fiction, how-to, you-can-do-it books is because of the inspiration all writers and authors are. There’s no one more courageous than a writer, it’s my goal to add success to that courage and help them enjoy the benefits of their bravery.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Sales. Every author wants to make some money, right? There’s always the joy of having tons of fans and enjoying a fantastic book signing where you run out of books before the line ends … but the bottom line is sales. If that doesn’t pique an author’s interest (and authors are my readers for these books), they’re probably never going to be interested in finding success or understanding the magic of cross marketing.

blog hop frog 3And the HOP continues! Watch for horror writer Les Denton’s NEXT BIG THING at her blog, http://lesdenton.wordpress.com/ on March 6. On March 13, sensational erotica author Sascha Illyvich will join the Blog Hop at http://whitewolfwriting.blogspot.com/. And on March 20, author David Bowman will share a fantastic challenge when he talks about his NEXT BIG THING at http://mymillionwordyear.blogspot.co.uk/

 

perf6.690x9.610.indd

“Finding Author Success” available in print & ebook on Amazon, B&N, Kobo, Apple and Sony!

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

