Alter Egos Arise!

Inspiration comes from a thousand places. Before I moved to Los Angeles, I absolutely never watched television. I had no clue what “Lost” was about or why anyone would want to “Dance with the Stars”, but now that those Stars are my real-life neighbors, television has become my preferred evening entertainment choice. 

Back in lovely Pittsburgh Pennsylvania, sitting on my porch and watching the occasionally visible sunset was enough inspiration to write Blind in the Light, a spiritual novel about an empathic priest. Now, my inspirations come more often from the television screen than the readily available daily west coast setting sun. These days I’m inspired by shows I never used to watch. And those shows are often of the reality variety. 

I confess. I love The Biggest Loser, Project Runway and of course, Top Chef. I adore Make Me a Super Model, What Not to Wear and The Millionaire Match Maker. But the inspiration I want to talk about today came to me from my newest Monday evening entertainment; Oxygen’s Dance Your Ass Off.   

Last night unhealthy, overweight and committed-to-change contestants were charged with performing a pole dance of all things; sexy, sultry, suggestive pole dancing and for the most part, every one of them pulled it off. One guy did a strip tease with tear-away slacks to drive his point across. I’m always inspired by people pushing past their limits to improve, but last night it wasn’t simply the fact that each one stood on that stage and courageously made love to a pole … it was the mental tools they used to accomplish their goal that impressed me most. 

Pinky, a lovely Hispanic street dancer with a few pounds to lose, was in a position to fail should she not break free of her tough-gal image and become feminine and sexy. Pinky is my hero for the week because not only did she do the difficult dance beautifully … she did it by starting inside her mind. Pinky developed an alter ego, a hot mama who had none of Pinky’s issues with emoting the depth of come-get-it required at the pole. I cheered, one of the judges almost cried and Pinky managed to stay another week with her great performance and nice weight loss. 

That’s when I decided … I want an alter ego. I need an alter ego. I DEMAND an alter ego! 

We all know the power of suggestion, the strength of visualization and manifestation to reach our goals. Time to add imagination to that list and invent the perfect alter ego to set the standards. 

My alter ego will be miles ahead of me. She’ll have all the success already under her belt, she’ll already know what I’m learning and she’ll be living the dream I’m climbing toward. She’ll be savvy with that cool existence; unlike me who still finds the simple stuff baffling … like Los Angeles traffic and why a city with no weather needs television weathermen. Oh yes, my alter ego is cool! She lives in a house on Malibu beach (not far from the one I imagine Alexander Scarsgard owns), she’s finishing her next best seller and still riding the wave of media coverage from her last best seller. I really like her. She’s an alter ego I want to be friends with and she has no problem letting me into her circle to feel the energy of being her. 

Yes. Every struggling writer needs this kind of alter ego. What fun, like a built in, made to order role model! 

What’s your alter ego like?

About Deborah Riley-Magnus

Deborah Riley-Magnus is an author and an Author Success Coach. She has a twenty-seven year professional background in marketing, advertising, and public relations as a writer for print, television, and radio. She writes fiction and non-fiction. Since 2010, she had two novels released. In 2013 her nonfiction, Finding Author Success (Second Edition), and Cross Marketing Magic for Authors were released. Her newest book, Write Brain/Left Brain, focuses on bridging the gap between the creative writer and the marketing author. Deborah produces several pieces monthly for various websites and online publications. She writes an author industry blog and teaches online and live workshops as The Author Success Coach. She belongs to several writing and professional organizations. Deborah has lived on both the east and west coast of the United States and has traveled the country widely. She is a native of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and recently returned after living in Los Angeles, California for several years. View all posts by Deborah Riley-Magnus

2 responses to “Alter Egos Arise!

Leave a Reply

